Mystery seedling I'd

LittleLithop(4a)May 10, 2013

This is my first year winter sowing and even with the late spring we are having I am very happy with the amount of seedlings I have. I will be doing this every year, it's all very exciting!!! I hope someone can help me id this little mystery seedling I have coming up in a few if my containers. It already has a few leaves so I hope that helps. I didn't think I was that careless with the seeds, but it seems to be coming up next to seedlings that look nothing like it. Could it be a weed from the soil? I bought some cheaper stuff that is working fine. It's the little one to the right. Maybe they stuck to my hands when I was planting because they are all over each container. Thanks for any help!!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
LittleLithop(4a)

Here it is in the other container next to my lupines so I know it's not intentional. (The two furthest right seedlings)

Bookmark   May 10, 2013 at 11:28PM
northerner_on(Z5A ONCanada)

Sorry I can't help id these little plants, but when I need an id I go to the site called 'Name that Plant'. It is on this forum and they are great. Hope this link works:

http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/namegal/

Bookmark   May 11, 2013 at 11:38AM
LittleLithop(4a)

Thank you!

Bookmark   May 11, 2013 at 2:08PM
caryltoo Z7/SE PA

Are your containers open? If so I'd bet that they're weeds that blew in. I get a fair number of those once the container is open.

Bookmark   May 12, 2013 at 8:26AM
LittleLithop(4a)

The containers are closed but I found out from a more knowledgable person that they are weeds. Stupid cheap soil at menards! Last time I buy that stuff. I'm not even sure what brand but I do remember it was in a red and white bag. Never again will I buy the super cheap junk. It's not even in my open containers but growing (like a weed) in my closed containers I just don't get it!? The conditions must have been just right. Yuck!!!

Bookmark   May 13, 2013 at 1:35PM