Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
warren8_gw

I'm almost finished with my pergola (2photo's)

Warren8
19 years ago

(This is my first attempt at posting a photo so hope it works, the picture isnt all that great.)

I worked on my back poarch steps pergola nearly all summer because I built the steps, handrails and everything else. It is a little further along than this picture now but I dont have a more recent one and all I need to do now is finish painting and decide what to plant on it. I cant decide whether I want some climbing roses or wisteria. anyway, any advice on what to plant? maybe something I haven't thought of. What do you think?

It's in and area that gets over 7 hours of direst sun every day and it's about 14' from the dround to the top, about 10' from the landing to the top.

{{gwi:2604}}

{{gwi:2606}}

Comments (26)

• mudbugtx
    19 years ago

Very nice! Did you attach the top to the house? I can't really tell from the pics.

• Warren8
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks, The website where my photo's are stored, automatically compress the photo's if they're big, which distorts them a little but yeah, the 3 pairs of (rafters?) are directly attached to the facial board on the porch, which I thought was necessary for structural reasons, it's all very solid that way.

• fuzzy
    19 years ago

Wisteria can get downright viscious. I'd hate to see it tear down your hard work.

How about confederate jasmine? Perfect for Alabama, in my opinion!

• wichitarick
    19 years ago

hi, new to this site on garden web have,nt looked around in a while , very nice work .made a big difference in the look of your house .and answered a question of what that would look like on the back of my deck ....thanks.