Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gltrap54

Petunia Noob Here.......

gltrap54
11 years ago

First time starting Petunias (Glorious Double Petunia Mix) from seed indoors........ Getting some germination after 3 days...... I'm assuming the same rules apply here...... Remove them from the heat mats as soon as they germinate. They're already under a 4', 4 bulb T8 fixture in the prop chamber..... Also, roughly, what percentage should be germinated before being removed from the heat mats?

Comments (9)

• naturemitch
    11 years ago

I have found leaving my seedlings on the germination mat for a few days is ok. As for what percentage of germination I am looking for?.....no hard number here. I usually plant more seeds than the number of seedlings I desire, so when I see a flush of seedlings appear I pull them off of the heat bed. Guess you will only know what # will satisfy you:)

• mandolls
    11 years ago

3 days is fast, 5 days is the average for me. I sow them in little 3oz plastic cups, 5-6 seed each, and then move each cup individually as soon as anything sprouts. I think moving them has a lot to do with what kind of change in temps they will get.

I sowed 6 different types this year and got very different germination rates from the various kinds. Mostly 85-95 % but one type, "Ultra Burgundy" was a dismal failure, very few germinated and what did are very weak looking compared to the others. It may have been seed quality.
    I have close to 200 little petunias going now - not quite sure what I will do with them all!

• gltrap54
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks folks for your input! This is day five & I'm seeing about 50% germination....... Will more germinate once they are removed from the heat mats? The packet said 5-10 days for germination, but of course that would depend on conditions...... These seeds have been maintained around 75F, covered,under lights....... in my (high tech LOL) prop chamber.

{{gwi:3197}}

• mandolls
    11 years ago