Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
v1rt

germinating indoors

v1rt
13 years ago

Hi. I just finished building a rack for my plants. I've also added 2 flourescent lights per shelf totalling to 80w. The tray I used has a transparent cover. I soaked the medium really well. Placed the seeds on top, tapped the seeds, misted the seeds then replaced the transparent cover. Oh, this is my first time doing this.

Last night, I set them to turn on from 12am to 8am. Is that good enough? When will I mist them again? Do they have to be transplanted or can I transplant them directly to the ground when they're 3-4 inches tall(hardening included)?

Thanks!

Comments (27)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    13 years ago

Why aren't you using your lights during the daytime, so that the seedlings can have some dark time? Plants a darn cycle. We use artificial lighting inside to add to sometimes meager sunlight available to these seedlings inside. We can add to the number of hours, too. I really can't speak the hours, though, as my transplants are put outside not too long after they've germinated. I don't need lights inside.

Are your flats heated by either heating mats or heating cables?

Did you sow the seeds directly into the seedling flat or in individual containers of some kind. I've always performed the former. Sowing them very closely in rows facilitates the transplanting into cell packs. If they are germinating directly into the flat, you'll need to transplant them before they get to be 3-4 inches tall. Unless I am missing something about your process.