Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bugbite_gw

Any plant surprises come up in your garden?

bugbite
11 years ago

This year 7 tomato plants have come up. All look different. All in very different locations in the yard. Four of those came up in the fall and are getting pretty big now.
And a great winter blooming black eyed susan.
About 20 plants that look like brokali.

Last year one delicious red pepper plant. Wife said it was the best she ever had.
One sunflower plant.
Also a strange perrenial black-eyed susan.
We have lived here for 20+ years so I know it is not from the previous owner :-)

Comments (9)

• mxk3 z5b_MI
    11 years ago

I sometimes get rose seedlings. I've never let them grow to maturity, so no clue what they'd look like - maybe I should! I've had impatiens crop up in cement cracks - ironic since they're not necessarily the easiest annual to grow from seed (I've got it down pat now, but wasn't easy when I was a noob). Yep, I've had random tomato seedlings pop up too. :0)

• eahamel
    11 years ago

I have a lot of vinca seedlings coming up in a pot of it that survived the winter, and some VIP-type petunias coming up in various places. Also have some tomato and pepper volunteers, as well as Mexican gherkins (tiny cucumbers).

• bugbite
    Original Author
    11 years ago

mxk3...Wish I had some volunteer roses. I did plant some rose seeds from Europe (see link) in the fall. They are doing nicely.
    eahamel...same with my VIP petunias (Laura Bush series). Only had 3 come up from seed the first year. Couldn't grow petunias well from seed.This year I have many volunteers. Plus I crossed some supposedly sterile- type of petunias from 2 plants I bought from Lowes. What do you know, some produced seeds and many, many germinated. Then I got "Rain Master" thru a trade. Most of those seemed to germinate. Now I am swimming in petunias from seed. Yea, I guess that counts as a surprise.