Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bacon13_gw

Zinnia indoors advice

bacon13
11 years ago

I planted these Zinnia purple prince on 2/17 and today this is what they look like. They are going to reach the top height of my growing stand indoors. I am new to growing flowers indoors. Today I have read about pinching them off to encourage more branching out and a fuller plant. Is it too late for me to do this? The tops of these are really good looking with a nice deep green color. I wonder if they are going to bloom soon.

What do you suggest I do?

Comments (17)

• susanzone5 (NY)
    11 years ago

You started them way too early for your zone. They need only a 2 week start and should be planted out when all danger of frost is gone, which is 2 months away for you.

What I would do is plant them in a big planter pot, 6" apart, don't pinch, and let them flower indoors, putting the pot outside on warm days and bringing them in at night.

If you want to, you can pinch the tip and wait for them to grow side shoots, but that could take forever. I'd start over the end of April with new seeds and call this a learning experience. lol.

• mandolls
    11 years ago

I would definitely pinch them - I take them down the right above the third leaf. Yes it will take a little time for them to branch out, but you have time before they can go out.

I start lots of annuals inside. You did jump the gun a bit with these. I have some dwarf zinnia started, but they are easier inside since they dont get so tall. Even those I didnt start til Mid March. The rest of my zinnia I'll start at the end of April.

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    11 years ago

mandolls, now you have scared me. My packet said to start 6-8 weeks ahead, I am 6ish out, and started almost all my zinnias (all tall) on april 1....guess i will be pruning hard.

LOL annuals are so much harder than lettuce!!!

• mandolls
    11 years ago