Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovetogrowflowers

Another Cleome Question about deadheading

lovetogrowflowers
13 years ago

Okay, I finally have cleome that I went and purchased. Now the only question I have is about deadheading. I read this from another site:

"Deadhead the plant regularly by removing spent flowers. This will lengthen the flowering period and prevent the plant from going to seed."

I want a long flowering period, but I also want the plant to reseed. So, with that in mind, what do I do? If removing spent flowers prevents the plant from going to seed I'm at a loss as to what to do. Rememeber, I'm a newbie to gardening altogether so explain it to me like you're talking to an idiot *LOL*

Thanks so very much for all your help.

Comments (10)

• oilpainter
    13 years ago

I deadhead the ones I want seed from until the 3rd week of August. Then I let them make seeds. You will get the long bloom time and seeds to reseed. You may be able to wait until later because you have a longer season. Stop deadheading a month before frost and you'll get enough seeds to have them reseed.

• Kat SE Wisconsin z5
    13 years ago

I've grown cleome for several years. The 1st couple of years I didn't deadhead. I had the 'Queen' series and they really got tall...over 5 ft. After that I did deadhead, to keep them shorter and I also noticed they branched out more. Usually by Sept. I stop deadheading and always have plenty of seedlings the next Spring.
    Btw, what kind did you buy?
    Enjoy!

Kat

• lovetogrowflowers
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Okay, I am so stupid. I just don't get it. I've read to pinch back when plants are young for best results. Some say not to pinch back cleome and others say do. I wish I knew what i was doing.

Are side shoots not branches, or are they considered stems, or are they both the same thing?