Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovetogrowflowers

Cleome seedling pic attached

lovetogrowflowers
14 years ago

This is my first year trying cleome. I started these outdoors in an area that I feel gets plenty of sunlight. I had no idea what i was doing so i just dumped some seeds in a pot. Now I have so many in the pot. Sorry about the bad pic below my questions, I had to use my cellphone.

My 1st question is do these look leggy? I'm not sure how they're supposed to look.

My 2nd question is how big should these be before I transplant them into the ground?

My 3rd question, I read that maybe pinching after the first set of four true leaves. I also read that pinching isn't necessary. What exactly does pinching mean? I'm new to gardening completely.

My 4th question, what is the true set of four leaves anyway? These have four leaves but not sure that's the true set. I'm confused.

I also ready after starting these that after four true leaves they should be put into their own individual pot. Now I don't know what to do.

My last question, Can't I just leave them all in the pot they're in and transplant the whole thing at one time? Please, Please help. I want these to work out so bad.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated. I love this flower and want some in my yard so bad. I just wanna do everything right. Thanks so much, and again sorry for the bad pic below.

{{gwi:7091}}

Comments (4)

• v1rt
    14 years ago

I direct sowed all my cleome seeds where I wanted them. I think I direct sowed them last April 21. I think it started germinating after a month. It was cold even mid-May.

I couldn't remember if my cleome were that leggy. Looks like not. I haven't tried transplanting cleome. Good luck.

• chom
    14 years ago

are you sure they are cleome? i planted some zinnia seeds and they look just like your pics.

• oilpainter
    14 years ago