Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mariaswell

Complete newbie, please help!

mariaswell
9 years ago

I have never planted a single thing before today so I'm completely new to this. I feel like this is a very dumb question, but the annuals that come in packs of four (six, etc) each one has its own root system and spacing requirements, are they supposed to be planted together or do you plant each one separately?

I don't know what to do!

Comments (6)

• lindaw_cincy
    9 years ago

plant each one by itself a few inches apart in the ground, you may mix colors of the same plant also for variety.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

google some pix of the plant you have ...

if they look like they will be one foot round in summer... then plant them about one foot apart ...

some peeps like bare mulched soil in between individual plants ... so they would space them about 2 feet apart ...

at this point in your learning curve.. just plant them in mother earth ...

shake/squeeze them out of the cell pack.. gently pull apart the roots if they are twirling round and round ... dont be all that gentle ...and water them in real good ...

and they will probably show transplant shock for a few days ... droopy ..... if you can plant on a rainy or cloudy day.. less sun stress ...

keep them damp ... until they perk up.. and then insert finger ... and water.. next time they seem to be drying out ....

just go for it.. and trust me.. we all killed thousands of plants over the years.. and that is how we learned ... by playing in the dirt ....

ken

ps: it would be nice to know what plants... what your soil is.. where you are ... if you really want some more info.. more specific to your project ...

• Donna
    9 years ago