Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chueh_gw

longest blooming annuals?

chueh
15 years ago

I would like to know what annuals have the longest blooming periods for each season. I have always had pansy from november till now. Then, I have not known or planted anything which seems to have long blooming for late spring, summer, or autumn.

Comments (6)

• maineman
    15 years ago

chueh,

I don't know about your climate in Georgia, but here in Maine, zinnias are a contender. They start blooming in the Spring and continue until near the killing frost in the Fall. As long as you deadhead them, they keep re-branching and re-blooming.

When I grew zinnias in Fort Worth (a good many years ago), the 100°+ temperatures in mid-Summer made almost daily irrigation a must, or they could succumb to the heat. But with enough water and nutrients, you could almost see them grow and push out new blooms. Zinnias come in almost every color except true blue. I am a zinnia hobbyist and amateur breeder.

This is a good article about growing and starting zinnias.

MM

• chueh
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you MM. I was thinking about zinnias, yet I kind of gave up when I saw their hardy zone. I thought that it would be too hot here in GA for them. Now, the myth is gone. I am going to plant some. Thanks

• Donna
    15 years ago

There are plenty of annuals that can take our heat and keep looking great from late spring all the way to frost. This, of course, requires good, fertile soil, plenty of mulch, and proper watering. Keep in mind that annuals, by definition, will die out after it freezes (pansies and their friends, die from the heat, but you see what I mean), and have to be replanted each year. Therefore, hardiness zones are fairly meaningless. What matters is heat resistance.