Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shinyalloy_5

annuals weed wacked by do gooder

shinyalloy_5
15 years ago

I need help. Dh mowed down entire flower bed in an attempt to help weed, cut everything to about two inches high. What can I plant from seed this late that will still make a showing this season? I do still have cosmos, marigold, and zinnia seeds. Will these work, or any other quick growers you can think of would be appretiated. Unfortunantly, I cannot afford this season to go out and buy a whole bed's worth of live plants to hide the damage.

I'm new to garden web (and gardening) and would be thankful for any advice. Also, I would be greatly consoled if anyone would care to share similar experiences.

MARY

zone 5 Indiana

Comments (12)

• schoolhouse_gw
    15 years ago

First of all....I'd get the weed wacker and chase him around the yard til he hollers "UNCLE!". Then ask him to dig into HIS pockets for a trip to the nursery. Or.....

What other annuals were planted in the bed? Of the three that you mention, it's possible the marigold and zinnia will grow new leaves and eventually bloom late - the plants will be bushy and not reach ideal height tho. How far along were the cosmos? Is there any foliage left at all on any of the plants or just stems?

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    15 years ago

what did he cut .. and why do you think it will fail ...

we all prune back or annuals.. its called deadheading ...

you hubby was just ahead of the curve.. for the first time??? ... lol .. and just a bit aggressive... rotf ....

i wouldnt be surprised if it doesnt come back lusher in a few weeks ... and you actually think of doing it again some time ...

unless he was so far ahead of the curve ... that he got the roundup out also .. lol

i have seen gardens flattened by hail storms... they come back.. what difference is there that it was a lawn mower ...