Return to the Annuals Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Growth time of geranium cuttings?

Posted by frank325 Z6 (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 21, 08 at 11:09

This is my first year getting geraniums (zonal) and I put 2 of them together in a container outside. I'm thinking maybe I should have put them in separate containers, because right now they fill it up a lot. Is that an issue since it's only mid-June? Would it have been better to put them in their own containers instead of trying to get a full-looking container right from the get go?

That's one question, but the main question I had was taking cuttings. I've never done this for any plant. How long, in general, might it take for a cutting to go from just cut and planted to looking like the plant you'd buy in the spring from a nursery? I wanted to try it for these guys, but had no idea when I should do it. Could I take cuttings in the fall and overwinter them indoors and end up with a big plant in the spring? Would a south facing window be best for them all winter, or a plant light in the basement?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Growth time of geranium cuttings?

• Posted by lindac Iowa Z 5/4 (My Page) on
    Sun, Jun 22, 08 at 17:07

When I was using geraneums for landscaping, andw anted one particular color, I would bring my big plant in the house before frost, and keep it watered in a south window and take cuttings the first week of January. Root them in sandand pot themup and by midMay they were looking wonderful.
But it happendmore quickly in the summer. If you take cuttings now, they probably will look like a "store bought plant" in about 2 1/2months.
Linda C

o

Wow! That's a lot faster than I was thinking. They really get that big in 2 1/2 months? I figured it would take longer since they don't root for a few weeks.

o

Sun, Jun 22, 08 at 23:27

How big a cutting will you take? And how big do you want them to be?