Return to the Annuals Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
good fertilizer

Posted by terratoma 7a (music1@ntelos.net) on
Sat, Jun 28, 14 at 15:12

This is my first year adding annuals to the garden beds, planting Brazilian Verbena, several types of salvia, heliotrope, nicotiana, etc. among the perennials, as well as along the front of the beds. I'd appreciate some suggestions and guidance regarding a good fertilizer to use for the remainder of the growing season. I'd prefer something I could mix with water and apply either to the leaves or at the base of the plant with a watering can. Time is not a problem; I can apply as frequently as needed.
What product would you suggest that should be readily available?
Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: good fertilizer

• Posted by mxk3 z5b/6 MI (My Page) on
    Sat, Jun 28, 14 at 15:41

I use Osmocote timed release granules on my annuals when I plant them. I'm lazy with fertilizing. With the Osmocote, it's once and done.

o

is your soil so sterile.. that they need to be juiced???

or is this an 'i have to feed my babies' sort of thing ...

you would be better off.. adding compost.. and build a good fertile soil ...

that said ... i would buy the cheapest water soluble 'general purpose' plant food.. and go to town .. according to the label ...

brand names .. and marketing hype.. is just that ...

wallyworld it is ...

ken

o

• Posted by mxk3 z5b/6 MI (My Page) on
    Sat, Jun 28, 14 at 17:16

Ken - the whole point of annuals is the flower power, they do better with a good dose of fertilizer. I agree with your advice in general, but the annuals need a kick in the butt and lots of juice in the tank to produce consistently throughout the season.

o

Hi terratoma,

" I'd prefer something I could mix with water and apply either to the leaves or at the base of the plant with a watering can. Time is not a problem; I can apply as frequently as needed. "