Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kendraschmidt_gw

Question about Coleus

KendraSchmidt
11 years ago

I saw a few coleus plants at the store today along with coleus seeds. I'd like to grow these outdoors, but from seed. I'm in a Zone 8a climate. When should I sow the seeds? When is the best time to plant these seeds outdoors?

Also, I'm relatively new to gardening flowers and plants (non-food). Does this mean that the plant is an "annual" because it is grown from seed? Does this mean the plant won't come back the next year on its own and will have to be replanted? Please let me know.

Thanks ladies/gents.

Comments (20)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

for this season.. probably last january ...

if i were you.. and keeping in mind .. my MI is not your z8 ..

i would suggest you buy a few plants for immediate gratification... and buy the pack of seeds and so them.. and experiment ... what do you have to lose .. a few bucks.. and some seed????

and then start some learning for winter seed starting ..

there is a winter sowing forum.. and those peeps will blow your mind ...

if you have any garden friends.. coleus.. will root in a glass of water inside a week ... so you can 'collect' some plants from anyone ....

ken

ps: and i presume someone will blow thru and tell you they are perennials in z8.. and it is a good time to grow seed.. lol ... and such is my advice these last few weeks.. lol ..

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

Kendra, I'd like to know where, in the vast swath of zone 8b across the country, you reside.

Coleus are tender perennials, meaning that in most locations they are killed by a frost. They can be over-wintered inside.

Seed production has nothing to do with whether a plant is an annual, perennial, or anything else. Coleus can be propagated by seed very easily or by cuttings prepared and inserted into a potting soil. Some of the very fancy cultivars can only be propagated vegetatively, as a matter of fact.