Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dislowk8_gw

Morning glories not flowering

dislowk8
18 years ago

I planted morning glory seeds (Heavenly Blue) in a hanging basket in May. Here it is July and I have lots of big healthy vines - but no flowers. This is my first time growing them. When are they supposed to bloom?

Thanks,

Heather

Comments (23)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    18 years ago

too much of the wrong fert will also cause such ...

and i think it is still a bit early for them ... depending on when you sowed them ...

ken

• dislowk8
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I used potting soil with slow release fertilizer - nothing additional. I guess I just need to be more patient . . .

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

Most likely reasons if plant appears healthy:
    Plant not old enough
    Not enough sun
    Too much N

Al

• october17
    18 years ago

It seems to take forever for them to bloom. But they will.

• dazed77
    18 years ago

Can I ask about having lots of buds, but buds not opening up? Does that indicate some kind of deficiency?

18 years ago

When buds aren't opening there is usually a time deficiency going on - the plant needs to mature some. As long as buds aren't aborting unopened, you needn't be concerned. They'll open.

Al

• happyhoe
    18 years ago

Heavenly blue takes 120 days to flower. You may get blooms earlie if the plants get root bound.

• dislowk8
    Original Author
    18 years ago

120 days! I had no idea. So I should expect blooms in September. For some reason I thought that morning glories bloomed early and often. I learn something new about gardening every day. Thanks everyone.

Heather

• LindaMA
    18 years ago

My Grandpa Otts have been blooming for a few weeks now but my Heavenly Blue have not yet bloomed. I too did not know that they take such a long time. I sure hope it's not too much longer!

• mutts_fan
    18 years ago