Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diggerdee

Nasturtium help - bugs!

Hello,

I winter-sowed some nasturtiums this year and they are spectacular so far. This is my first time having them and I am very happy with them.

However, yesterday I noticed that they are just covered with tiny black bugs. Can anyone tell me what they are and what to do? I sprayed them with pyola. Is this enough?

Thanks!

:)

Dee

Comments (14)

• franeli
    18 years ago

aphids would be my guess...they love nasturtiums!
    I use Safer's soap or even just a blast of water on them. You have to keep checking for aphids throughout the summer.

• jimcnj
    18 years ago

I had that problem last year. Fortunately,the large number of aphids might attract lady bugs whose larvae eat those aphids and any other ones in your garden.

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I haven't had a chance to try Safer's Soap yet, (hopefully I can get some tomorrow) but in the meantime, the pyola and the spray of water doesn't seem to be working. The plants are turning yellow and looking pretty bad. Can I cut them back without harming them to encourage new, bug-free growth? And if so, how far back? Ths is discouraging as they were so gorgeous up to this point.

Thanks!
    Dee

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Oops, I forgot to say thanks for helping me out, Franeli and Jimcnj. Please excuse my bad manners, lol!

Dee

• franeli
    18 years ago

Sounds like the entire plant is infested, not just some of it(?)
    All the leaves yellowing?
    I've been picking off yellowing + grasshoper chewed leaves
    (yes, I have squadzillion grass-my-as$hopers here in the re-clamined gravel yard) and the plants just keep puting out new growth + blooms.
    Dry, hot weather is very stressful for nasturtiums. You have that in Conn. this summer?

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    Original Author
    18 years ago