Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowrpowr

Hibiscus 'Red Shield', have you seen it?

FlowrPowr
18 years ago

Hello annual forum. I'm a newbie to this forum, so I hope you don't mind me popping in for a post. I just had to share this plant with someone, and this would be the most appropriate place.

If you have never grown this plant, you should give it a try. It has to be one of the boldest plants in the border. The color might not be for everyone, but I love it. I don't have a picture of a flower yet, it seems kind of shy to bloom, but it has set buds, so I'm hopeful. I'm curious if any of you grow this one?

This is a shot of the back of the border. The 'Red Shield' is the plant on the right.

{{gwi:19934}}

Comments (26)

• Crazy_Gardener
    18 years ago

Yes I have them in my garden too, although mine is no way near the size of yours, you must be getting the heat!

What is the plant in the center? I just love how all your colours & textures combine so well with the Red Shield.

And your trees in the background...gorgeous garden FlowrPowr, thanks for sharing !

Sharon

• fearlessemily
    18 years ago

Hi FlowrPowr --

So glad you wrote about this! I am growing them for the first time this year as well -- They have gotten huge just like yours, but I don't think mine are even setting buds yet! I am dying to see what the flowers look like, so please please post as soon as they bloom!

Emily

• FlowrPowr
    Original Author
    18 years ago