Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

Rooting sweet potato vines to overwinter

Recent posts on rooting other annuals to take indoors have me hopingÂ

I have been growing sweet potato vines for several years. A few are in mixed deck planters I take in and out every year (though those donÂt always make it over the winter and have to be replaced). But I also plant 6 or more in other planters and in the garden. This year I was dismayed at how costly they were at the nursery. I still shelled out but bought fewer. I tried taking cuttings last year but they died immediately. I noticed that the cut stems ooze a milky liquid. If I have to I will dig up the whole plant but IÂm hoping that will not be necessary: plus I am likely to leave it too late before frost.

The chartreuse colored ones in particular I really want to keep going. WhatÂs the secret for these?

Comments (30)

• calliope
    15 years ago

I used to propagate them in sand beds, but found out by accident when I had too many cuttings to get around to setting them that they root up easiest in a container of water, lol. I stuck the cuttings in a jar so they wouldn't dry out before I could stick them and by the time I got around to sticking them, they'd already rooted in the water........in days! Now, I just root them in water and then pot them up in a container when they get a decent rootball.

• kimcoco
    15 years ago

I'm glad you posted this because I was wondering myself. I adore my sweet potato vines, and they are pricey.

Thanks

• helenh
    15 years ago