Return to the Annuals Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Companion/mix plant suggestions for Snapdragons?

Posted by jitsmith 5Denver (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 12, 14 at 19:34

I have two garden areas that I want to mass Snapdragons in but I'd like to mix in something else for foliage contrast and color between blooms. I plan to Winter Sow seeds, and I'm starting to plan orders already (I know, way too early but I'm a newbie and this is the first year and . . .)

I'm looking for something simple to sow and grow, blooms thru summer, pref long-lasting flowers. Coreopsis tinctoria comes to mind, needle foliage and upright manner, but it may not show well among the Snaps foliage, that's why I thought about Larkspur to gain some height. Anyone have other ideas?

I do plan on using Digit's "pinch a third every ten days" scheme to extend the Snaps bloom periods, but looking for something extra for the first few years of the beds as they fill in - one is a 5'x8' oval raised island, the other a 2'x4' section of the back border.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Companion/mix plant suggestions for Snapdragons?

Dusty Miller makes a great accent plant or if you're looking for a perennial, Artemesia 'Powis Castle' (also spelled 'Powys'). There are so many beautiful coleus varieties that can take a lot of sun that would work well, too. For flowers with contrasting foliage cosmos would work (just check the varieties....some of them get monstrously tall ; 'Sonata' is a shorter variety.) and so would blue salvia (I like S. farinacea aka mealycup sage 'Victoria Blue' and 'Fairy Queen' which boasts a bi-color blue & white flower spike.)

o

Snapdragons don't come in blue, as far as I know. How about one of the taller blue ageratums, like Blue Planet? Might be a nice contrast.

Gary

o