Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mmsc_gw

Tidal Wave Petunias

mmsc
16 years ago

Hey,

It's my first time growing the tidal wave variety from seed, and so far they're really fast growers(compared to other petunias). I'd like to know if they should be pinched like regular petunias, or should I just let them grow? They seem to branch out on their own (picture). I'm also aware that they are heavy feeders.. so can I start fertilizing right now or wait till they get bigger? I plan on using them on window boxes and hanging baskets.

Thanks,

Mauricio

{{gwi:22696}}

{{gwi:22697}}

Comments (12)

• calliope
    16 years ago

The pinch question depends on how you are using them. For boxes and baskets, I prefer the easy wave, then the original wave and lastly the tidals in that order. The reason is the tidal waves have a lot looser or 'stringier' growth habit. They are very rapid growers, yes, and I like to use them as filler in garden beds, and they twine in between other plants, and fill in empty space and provide reliable bloom without the high maitenance of pinching. They're often referrred to as hedgifolia, or hedge petunias as if they're planted closely enough together, they'll grow upwards into a hedge form. Planted farther apart, they'll grow more prostrate.

In making windowboxes and baskets, one usually wants the fullness in a petunia, along with the draping. So that when the plants grow out over the edge of the basket and flow, they also are substantial and not stringy. The tidal seriers has a longer internodal length, and will be more angular and open. You'll need to do more pinches with them to keep them full.

• mmsc
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for your reply! I am also growing about 15 waves/easy waves so I'm still not sure which plants I'll be using in the baskets. I just thought the tidals would look good after seeing some pictures in the forum gallery (link).

Thanks again,
    Mauricio