Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kitteh_gw

cleome seeds

kitteh
10 years ago

It's my first year saving seeds. I grew one large purple cleome that is one of my candidates for collecting seeds from for trades.

Do the seeds from that flower mostly self-pollinate and do the seeds give a purple plant or can the plants be multiple colors ?
Do lighter colored seeds indicate the plant's color, do they indicate viability?

Comments (6)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

When ripe, Cleome seed pods explode, throwing the seeds near and far. To get ripe ones, it may be necessary to put some kind of bag over some pods. Old pantyhose work well, if available at your house, whatever can contain the seeds but won't melt if it rains. If you're not expecting rain for a few days, a little paper bag would work fine. Bread twist-tie can hold it on until you see the pod has burst (or hear seeds rattling inside a paper bag.)

Most gathered seeds are a gamble regarding color, if various colors are possible. For trading, it's fine to say they came from a purple-flowered plant but you have no idea if there are other colors of Cleome in nearby yards that could have crossed with yours. Same for zinnia, morning glory, whatever you might have. Nobody can be disappointed or have unreasonable expectations that way. Most who 'must' have a certain color would know this, so hopefully would get seeds from a store/mail company to have a reasonable expectation of precise results or, better yet, get already-blooming plants.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

they ripen in order of flowering..

the first to bloom.. will be the first to explode.. and the next day.. the next.. etc ...

just watch them.. and when the oldest opens.. the rest are probably ready to go ...

i quit growing this thing.. because it reseeded itself monstrously ....

the thought that you are going to save seeds ..... and encourage it.. entertains me ...