Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wilmember

Which vine should I get?

Wilmember
9 years ago

I'm looking to do something similar to the picture above.
So I'm new to gardening, live in Ontario, and need a vine that won't try to cover the entire building.
I'd like something light green ideally.

Also wondering about some easy starter plants that I could also grow on my balcony.
Thanks!

{{gwi:2117461}}

Comments (3)

• Michaela (Zone 5b - Iowa)
    9 years ago

Hi there. Morning glories are easy to grow from seed, and grow very quickly.

Michaela

• Debbie Sheegog
    8 years ago

Hi, Wilmember(4b) saw your old post, but it's about that time of year again! First ,look at your local garden centers, use Google for convenience, and realize it's still cold in N. C. so imagine it is there, also! I have been patio gardening for a few years, and enjoy it so much. I don't know what you love specifically, but will share my things. The seeds are also a good idea above for a look but flowers close at night.

Ever heard of Moon flowers? Find a seedling going on already for your front piece, and keep in mind, it is light green, grows like crazy, and will vine if you get the correct one. The white blossoms open at night, and smell heavenly!

I wanted to place growing vines along the sides for privacy, so put a white English Jasmine which is slower growing than the yellow, which will take over literally. IT is staked for our purposes, so it grows up the center, adding height, and it is evergreen with beautiful aroma from the flowers in spring and summer. Slow grower, but worth waiting for.