Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
knitstuff

Newcomer!

knitstuff
17 years ago

Hi all!

I'm Jen, new to the site and just moved into an apartment with a southeastern facing balcony, 4' x 8', zone 6 (SE Michigan) and I am looking for suggestions for plants, both flowering, vegetable and herb. (I'm a cook so I am looking forwards to fresh veggies!) I do have some hooks that I will be able to hang plants from, so suggestions for that are welcome as well!

Jen

Comments (6)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    17 years ago

Hi Jen and welcome!

I just bought seeds online and am looking forward to trying some new heirloom tomatoes and banana peppers this year on my balcony (I have 4 containers that can be dedicated to the 'maters so it was a tough choice of what to try).

There's plenty that you can grow (including whatever you like to cook with) and your exposure will be good for veggies and herbs with the sun. The limit is the amount of space basically. The only downside might be having to water a bit more due the southern exposure, although SE probably gives you a little break in the hottest part of the afternoon as opposed to South or SW.

For veggies/herbs, last year I grew tomatoes (3 types - 7 plants), habanero peppers, tamatillos, italian and greek oregano, sweet and genovese basil, and lemon thyme. Had a nice amount of basil to make pesto.

You can start slowly and see how things do this summer with your exposure and then add on from there. If you hang around here long enough, you'll probably end up hooking a hose to the nearest sink and watering from your doorway because it'll get so packed out there!!! LOL LOL

• knitstuff
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks for the tips!

• containergirl
    17 years ago

Welcome Jen!