Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amaranthena

African Marigolds

amaranthena
18 years ago

Hi All!

I just discovered this wonderful forum and I've been reading it nonstop! I'm new to gardening, especially terrace gardening. I'm on the 20th floor of a NYC apartment facing Northeast but also have a view of the Hudson river from the terrace. Here's a couple of pics from last autumn. This year I'm completely changing the look of my terrace but it's been so cold and windy I haven't been able to spend too much time out for now. Can't wait for the warmer weather!

{{gwi:417}}

{{gwi:418}}

Comments (15)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Aww! That's a great seasonal display!!

How big is your space? No matter how big, we can fill it up! LOL

• amaranthena
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hi Jenny,

My terrace is 6'X12". Not huge but comfortable. In late spring and summer we have barbeques and 5-6 can fit intimately. No one ever complains about the space that's for sure! Got to see your webpage and your balcony is beautiful with a great view! What a great collection of plants. I'm looking to add more evergreens that can withstand shade as I only get 3 hours of direct morning sun. Because my space is small and my friends like to use it a lot I'm considering vertical terrace gardening.

• jenny_in_se_pa
    18 years ago

Glad you like my garden! It's been through alot over the years!!! LOL

Vertical gardening sounds good. Running plants up a trellis lets you use some wall space and shelves with plants cascading down, can make a wonderful display.