Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linda1270

How Much Direct Sun Needed?

LindaMA
19 years ago

This is my first year trying a container garden on my 2nd floor porch deck and I've got a lot of seedlings up but now I'm wondering just how much sun they'll need to survive on my deck. The sun usually hits the deck around 9 am and hits the front of the deck pretty much all day, or at least until 3-4 p.m., is 6 - 7 hours of sun enough for the following?

Morning Glorys

Moonflowers

Four O'clocks

Cosmos

Bachelor's Button

Tomatoes

Petunias

Scarlet Cardinal Climber

My Impatiens will go further back on the deck where the shade is. Today I'm timing just how much sun hits that deck during the day.

Many thanks in advance for any help!

Linda

Comments (10)

• AlllieNYC
    19 years ago

I think that is enough for the plants you list. I would try to put the tomatoes and cosmos in the sunniest part of the deck, since those plants need the most sun. In my experience, morning glory and moonflower can grow in part shade (people grow them all along my block)... mine always seemed to get a little wilty in the hottest/sunniest part of the day.

• LindaMA
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks Allie, you've made my day, I was very nervous that I'd have to put everything right up front along the deck rail, either in hanging baskets or window boxes on the rail. Now I think I may be able to put the moonflowers and morning glories next to the wall on a trellis so they can climb and that wall doesn't get as much sun, sounds like they may be okay though, thanks again!

• KraZbuderfly
    19 years ago

Allie, you just made my day too! Great to know Moonflowers & Morning Glories like some shade!

~KraZbuderfly

• lighter
    18 years ago

Perfect!! All of those you mentioned are annuals up whjere you are. You get plenty of sun. Just sit back and enjoy!

• jenny_in_se_pa
    18 years ago