Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bfl13

South Balcony--every year no plants make it

bfl13
18 years ago

I have a long narrow balcony that faces directly south and gets FULL sun. It is essentially a 3 sided box so it gets very hot out there due to lack of air flow.

I have tried all different places, containers and plants with almost no success. Some things I have tried: hibiscus, peony, basil, sage, rosemary, oregano, chives, and assorted flowers.

Any insights on what I can do to increase my success. Most important to me would be herbs as I am an avid home chef!

Comments (11)

• klv13440
    18 years ago

This may sound crazy but have you tried putting a fan out there for circulation? If all else fails get a small hydroponics system and do the herbs inside all year round:>)I am getting one in the fall and can not wait!

• jenny_in_se_pa
    18 years ago

One of my sisters used to be in an apartment with a south-facing balcony - literally blazing sun all day. What she did was grow her veggies back against the wall away from the rail and she found miscanthus grass in a half-barrel seemed to do well along with an asparagus fern. For her herbs in her windowboxes, she mulched them but also had to water continually.

What you might consider is putting up a piece of lattice - maybe in one corner, and then maybe grow a vine up that and place the rest of your plants by that corner with the hope that the lattice would diffuse some of the blazing sun in that spot. I have seen one person in my building using a folding room divider out on the balcony and that might useful to create a sun block (you could even make your own with strips of wood and some lattice or shade cloth stapled on it).

• john_z
    18 years ago