Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jende_gw

Tall plants to create privacy

jende
17 years ago

hello. I'm also new to balcony gardening (just bought a condo this year) and I need some ideas for plants to use to create privacy between my balcony and my neighbor's.

I already bought three tall planters (about 3 feet high and 1 foot in diameter), now I need to figure out what kind of plants to get. I would prefer something that will grow to be around 3-4 feet tall, and non-flowering/non-ornamental. I'm picturing something like a prairie grass. Low maintenance is key, and if it's something perennial that I can keep outside over the cold Michigan winter, even better.

My balcony is south-facing, but gets some shade due to the overhang of the balcony above me.

Thanks for any ideas!

Comments (6)

• watergal
    17 years ago

Any of the ornamental grasses would look nice, but you have to chop them down in the spring, so there are a couple of months while they are growing back where you wouldn't have much privacy.

For year round use, I suggest evergreens. Junipers are really tough and come in various heights and widths, perhaps yews. Do you know your gardening zone?

• ruggy
    17 years ago

They wouldn't provide any privacy in winter, but I've had good luck with Cattails. I have both mini and regular cattails.

They don't take any maintainence, just keep the water topped off, and they winter fantastically. I've got several shoots coming up already!

This picture shows the pond area around May 20, you can see the cattails coming up in the back.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:1237}}

• jenny_in_se_pa
    17 years ago