Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisyfe

Fruits and Veggies on a small balcony

daisyfe
16 years ago

Hello! Im a very very beginner gardener with a brand new balcony garden that im working on. So far i have a couple window boxes and am mainly growing herbs and flowers. I recently got a jalapeño plant (love it!) and now my curiosity is going crazy about other fruits and veggies i could potentially grow on my 10'x4' east facing balcony. Any suggestions about reasonably sized and managable plants is appreciated!

Comments (5)

• bullthistle
    16 years ago

Why not tomatoes? You will need a larger container then the pepper, but cherry tomatoes do not need as much room. Cucs spread too much but you can try the bush type. Lettuce would be good for a window box. It depends what veggies you like.

Here is a link that might be useful: Propagating Perennials

• dugswyf
    16 years ago

I have three 4inch Celebrity tomatoe plants. Can I grow them on my balcony in a two food plastic container or do I need a bigger container? This is the first time I have ever tried to grow anything.

• ilikewinter
    15 years ago

dugswyf: It's my understanding that tomatoes need room for their roots to grow. I am not sure what size the food plastic containers are, but make sure the roots have room to stretch. There are guides online that will tell you how much room to give a plant (how deep the soil needs to be).