Return to the Balcony Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Campanula doing well

Posted by bultman 8 NL Europe (My Page) on
Tue, May 23, 06 at 6:17

I'm very pleased with how well the campanula varieties on my balcony are doing this year. They're great plants, coming back faithfully every year and putting on a lovely display.

Bernadette

Here is a link that might be useful: Campanula

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Campanula doing well

• Posted by pvick z6B NYC (My Page) on
    Wed, May 24, 06 at 20:47

WoW! They are beautiful!

What varieties are you growing?

PV

o

The varieties are Campanula Garganica Senior (the taller one in the top right of the photo and only just starting to bloom), Campanula Portenschlagiana (at the front in the photo) and Campanula Poscharskyana (to the right of the Portenschlagiana). Unfortunately I don't know the name of the low one blooming at the top/back of the photo - it had no label when I bought it and I'm no expert on recognising the different types.
I used to have a Campanula Carpatica Alba and a Campanula Carpatica Weisse Clips which bloomed beautifully but for some reason unknown to me they died off one autumn and didn't return in the spring. In general I'd say the Campanulas are one of the toughest plants I have and they seem to improve each year. I love that they flower for such a long time.

Bernadette

o

Those are pretty! I keep seeing them at the nurseries but keep saying to myself "Nah....". I don't have any room. LOL I did get some Virginia Bluebells as an early spring bloomer so I'll see how that does. They don't bloom as long as the campanulas and disappear in the heat of summer but I always thought they were a nice little shade plant. I'll see how mine do if I move them to a real shadey spot for summer.

o
RE: Campanula doing well*

Beautiful!

Can you tell me what sun exposure yours have? I'm Z8 in No. CA. and wonder if your European Z 8 is the same?

Do they bloom a long time?

o