Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roxcandy

potted lilacs on balcony?

roxcandy
18 years ago

MegNYC discussed lilacs in a 20" pot on another thread. Any tips/other experience with potted lilacs? My nursery has Dwarf Korean and Miss Kim Dwarf Korean (both grow 4-6'). Miss Kim is on sale 5G. bucket for $25, usu. $40. 2G. buckets are $25.

How do they take to pruning? I wouldn't want them to go much bigger than the existing 5G. size. Also, their zone hardiness goes to 3--safe outside, properly protected, or should/can I winter them in my underground garage?

Also, does one need to prune roots on something like this? I'm new to gardening--just did 3 balcony rail pots of annuals last year--so this would be a novice's investment. If it's a bad idea, would you suggest Alberta spruce as someone else has recommended in another post? Thank you!

Comments (10)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have 2 on my balcony - a "Miss Kim" that I've had for about 5 years and a "James McFarlane" (which isn't a "dwarf") for going on 10 years. This is my "James McFarlane", with a little view of the blueberries as you move towards the right with a sliver of the "Miss Kim" on the far right.

{{gwi:1811}}

I need to take a more recent pic of "Miss Kim" and where she is right now but she looked like this when blooming last year (she is running late this year with the blooms as this spring has been unseasonably cool):

{{gwi:1813}}

{{gwi:1815}}

Technically, "Miss Kim" isn't a dwarf but is considered a "compact" as she can grow to 12ft or more. But this is considered "compact" when compared to something like the common lilac or Syringa vulgaris, that can go to 20ft or more. Obviously in a smallish container, it's not going to go that size and you can prune. However be aware of when to prune (ie., right after blooming) so you don't lose your blooms for the next year.