Return to the Balcony Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Fertilizer suggestions?

Posted by drew_dog Columbia, S.C. (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 17, 05 at 8:08

Anybody got fertilizer suggestions for tomatoes, cucumbers, and squash in pots? I am new to the game, so I'll greatly appreciate some proportion and administration instructions, too. Please try to keep it cheap, too; studying for the S.C. Bar here & don't have a lot of income at the moment.

Thanks,

Drew

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Fertilizer suggestions?

The amount would be per the label of the product that you might buy. The type would depend on whether you prefer "natural/organic" products like fish fertilizer, manure, seaweed, etc., or the chemical fertilizers like Miracle Gro, Peter's, Osmocote, etc. Many companies sell products supposedly formulated for certain types of plants like tomatoes (eg., Espoma sells Tomato-tone I believe, which is a natural fertilizer and Miracle Gro sells a fertilizer for Tomatoes and other veggies, with a specific NPK).

o

I tend to do about half of the amount the the lable says, mainly because I'm worried about "burning" my plants. But they are healthy and growing quickly, so they must not mind being fed at half strenght too much :)

o

Thanks for the follow-ups, y'all. Can't say as I really care about the organic/manufactured distinction, though I'd go organic in an ideal world.

o

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a MI (My Page) on
    Fri, Jun 17, 05 at 21:41

Drew - an over-abundance of nitrogen in your tomato's soil can have a negative effect on fruiting. You may wish to consider using leaf color as a guide to when supplemental nutrient applications are needed - it's a good gauge. A dark green leaf color would indicate there are most likely adequate amounts of N, and probably other nutrients, available in the soil. A swing toward light green color or a yellowish cast or venation (visible veins because they are a different color) would indicate the need for nutrients.

Good luck.