Return to the Balcony Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to site, balcony gardening

Posted by drew_dog Columbia, S.C. (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 5, 05 at 12:26

Hey, y'all. I like the forum. I'm new to balcony gardening and am trying at it this year. I live on the fourth floor of a high-rise here in downtown Cola with a small south-by-southeast facing balcony that gets fairly decent sun, especially in the first half of the day. There's an overhang and a screen (necessary to keep local pigeons, which abound, at bay).

It's been about a week since I've put out two tomato plants (Patio and Better Bush Goliath), a pot w/ crookneck squash, a pot w/ pickling cucumber, mint, rosemary, spicy globe basial, and thyme. Also, girlfriend already had some impatiens going on that are doing pretty well.

Y'all got any advice for me? Insight will be much appreciated generally or with regard to the fact that the cucumber & squash pots contain what looks like three and two plants, respectively (that's the way they came from Home Depot before I transplanted them).

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to site, balcony gardening

Welcome! Ahh.... Time to fill up someone else's balcony... heh heh heh

How big is your balcony?

With respect to having a couple of those named plants per container, how big a container are you using? I am trying spaghetti squash this year and have 4 in a 14-gallon Rubbermaid tote. I have some 6ft plastic bamboo stakes that I'm going to try to cobble together to make a teepee for them and will probably attempt to put some netting around that for them to climb on. Here they were this morning:

It has been abnormally cool up here and I had them out in May but had them covered with a plastic milk jug, which was ridiculous. Never had to do that here ever since I moved here 11 years ago. :\ We're finally getting some nice heat coming up this week so hopefully they will take off.