Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sthlmgreen

New to Tomatoes, Wind and Veggies on the Balcony

sthlmgreen
17 years ago

Hi! It's my first post. When I found a forum for balconies and had to join!

This is my first year growing anything. I have managed to start tomatoes, peppers, swede, leeks and some spinach. I also have lots of herbs but most of those are okay indoors. I've done everything for super cheap using found pots and things like toilet paper rolls to start the seeds off.

I live in Stockholm, Sweden. My balcony is 9th floor and has a railing and is concrete up to this raining, if that makes sense. There's a roof and walls on both sides.

Maybe I was too optimistic. I was planning on growing two tomato plants a tall shelf and have taken off a few boards so that the plants grow right up through the shelf. I was planning on tying the branches on to the shelf using the whole thing as a planter. Another three (the smallest tomato plants) are in a mini greenhouse.

I have had them out a few afternoons and then a few nights now, but today almost all 7 plants that were out (from one to two feet high) were blown over. They're still in too-small pots and today was my day to put them in their final containers. But the wind was so bad they were blown over and off their shelves. And they barely fit in my apartment as it is. They're desperate for new pots but being outside wrecks them. Any ideas?

One plant snapped in half. I doubt there's much hope for that one. I have several with very withered leaves. What should I do, take off those branches, or leaves or hope they recover?

Thanks for any help or experience you want to share. I look forward to learning a lot!

Comments (5)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi sthlmgreen and welcome!!!