Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
containergirl

Newbie loving this forum!

containergirl
17 years ago

This is so inspirational! I am a totaly newbie gardener, (though I did have about 100 houseplants that I let slowly die after the birth of my daughter. I'm not proud of that, but kiddo kicked my butt.) But she's 3 now, and we now have a large 10x16 deck which I am planting up!

So far I've picked up on the idea of growing 1-2 zones hardier to get the pots to survive the winter.

I've been so inspired by Jenny in Pa's garden! Is there an equivalent enthusiast for Chicago/zone5? I need inspiration because I have encountered a lot of negativity in regards to success with containers around here. My huechera did overwinter last year with no help from me (I didn't even know it's name back then LOL.) So that definitely gives me hope. I just got some blueberries, which I hope will be hardy enough (zone 4 only).

I'm growing some tomatoes, radishes, sunflowers and a bunch of other stuff. Lots of annual flowers, but I am getting excited about the idea of perennials, and FRUITS.

I'm learning more everyday, almost as quickly as my morning glory seedlings are growing! This is fun!

Comment (1)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    17 years ago

Hi containergirl and welcome (although I know you've been posting around for a little bit now)!! :-D

Regarding some ideas - what I tend to do is think in terms of plants that I like and then I look up the cultural requirements and hardiness, and only then do I begin to assess what to do for container culture of the plant.

I think many people forget that when they go to a nursery to buy plants for their gardens, about 9 out of 10 times they buy something already growing in a container. The final 1 out 10 purchase might be a balled & burlaped specimen if they choose to go with a more mature specimen.