Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynn_nevins

how to handle water drainage if balcony has a solid floor?!

Lynn Nevins
11 years ago

Hi all. This is my first time balcony gardening. My balcony floor is solid cement. I have too many plants out there to carry them all inside for daily watering, so naturally I water them all out on the balcony.

But then I end up with puddles of water all over the balcony floor that sometimes take more than 24 hours to dry up. I am also now left with water stains all of the (white) cement floor.

Anyone else have this problem and how do you handle?

Tx!

Comments (7)

• Pixel_Pepper
    11 years ago

Hello,

I also had a balcony garden at my last apartment, and just continued to water and ended up with bad stains at the end of my year and a half stay. The apartment complex took money out of my deposit to cover the cost of cleaning it because I wasn't able to get it back to its original condition on my own. (Granted, I probably could have worked on it for a little more time, but they also were pretty bad stains.)

If you think you can get the current stains out easily, I would consider just buying saucers for your pots. It's a big expense if you have many plants but you'll probably be charged just as much for the cleaning when you move, and the saucers can be used after you move as well. You can save money on the saucers if you group many small pots on one large saucer, and you probably could get a discount ordering them online in bulk as well.

Since the cement is white, you may decide to just continue as you have been doing, and bleach the stains out periodically. (If it's rust stains, it might be a little tougher. Don't have a game plan for that situation.)

Good luck!

• Lynn Nevins
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Tx. Yeah, lately I've tried a combo of mopping up the brownis water with a separate sponge mophead that I use for the balcony only, and then I throw clean water back on the balcony floor mixed with a little bleach.