Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grice_gw

Dwarf Alberta spruce info please

grice
18 years ago

Hi all. I bought two of these today to have on my balcony. I was told that they would do well in full sun and that I can have them in containers as opposed to planting in the ground.

Is that true? Will they be able to be left outside in winter?

I live in S.E. Michigan and our winters are pretty harsh. Will my spruces be alright outside or should they be brought inside during the 'artic' season? Also,should I repot them to a larger container or leave them in the pot they came in?

I'd like any and all advice you all can offer as this is my first attempt with spruces.

Thanks so much and happy Fourth to all.

Grice

Comments (11)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

It's likely that your tree would survive temperatures on the balcony as they are hardy to zone 4, but it's still somewhat chancy on a balcony (I have left them outdoors sitting on the ground to over winter without protection, other than setting them out of sun & wind against a building). They will not like sun & exposure to wind over winter if your balcony gets full sun - they winter-burn easily, & especially so in containers. This plant is also very prone to spider mites in dry locations like you describe, so be on the lookout for evidence of their arrival.

You'll need to look at the roots to see if potting-up is necessary. It's possible the nursery potted-up this year & it won't be necessary until next spring or the year after. Repotting (which includes some pruning of roots & at least partial removal of soil) is best done on this plant in mid-April. These plants grow slowly in containers. Some species of P. abies grow only about 1/2 inch per year. Your tree is likely to put on about 1 - 1-1/2 inches in ht & about half that in width each year.

Good luck. ;o)

Al

• grice
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks Al.