Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tessyta_gw

WANTED: My jupiter bonsai dried out! help me

tessyta
16 years ago

Hi my Jupiter bonsai tree has dried out. I went for 10 days out of town and I left it in my garden under a big tree but every day was raining a lot in Austin so probably my little tree got to much water now it looks browm the leaves look dry and I'm wonder if it is gonna died. Now I'm keeping the bonsai in the sun, I don't know what to do.

I am new to owning a bonsai. can anyone help me save my bonsay?

Thanks a lot

Comments (3)

• paulzie32
    16 years ago

I'm guessing your little juniper is a new purchase from... a Mall or department store in a little pot with Gravel that is glued in place and not Moss over the soil. Unfortunately, Bonsais have become extremely popular during the past 10 years or so. This has caused a lot of unscrupulous people to find ways of Mass Producing miniature trees in weeks as opposed to years to create. They do this by buying 'Blue Mound' junipers, Cutting off a lot of branches to quickly shape them, then shake off all soil from the roots, cut them back as far as necessary to fit into the smallest pot needed to look good, potted back up and a nice helping of gravel in epoxy is spread over the top... If you paid the extra amount you may have even gotten a little japanese figurine glued in place as well.
    The poor trees never even have a chance. They never even have time to recover from such a severe pruning of branches OR roots!
    Your poor tree may just be dead. YOu can lightly scrach off a small section of bark with your finger nail or butter knife... If it's green underneath, it's probably still alive... If it's white or brown, I'm afraid it's dead.