Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brandonsukhoi

dwarf jade help please.

brandonsukhoi
9 years ago

Hi I have recently received a dwarf jade as a gift. and I am new to taking care of bonsai plants. as of recently the tree has been dropping leaves but they don't wrinkle or turn brown/yellow. This has had me very concerned since it has lost about 60 to 70 percent of its leaves. so I did some research and have come to the conclusion that I was overwatering it. so two weeks have passed and I am seeing new growth, but the tree is still dropping leaves although less than before. an this has me very concerned still.
The tree is in a north facing window with supplemented light. An the soil appears to be a well draining soil.
Thanks in advice for any and all advice.

Comments (14)

• moochinka
    9 years ago

When you say supplemented light, can you be more specific? A N. facing window is pretty dark to a desert plant...

• brandonsukhoi
    Original Author
    9 years ago

yes I have a growing light that is on for about 9-10 hours a day.

• moochinka
    9 years ago

What KIND of grow light? And 10 hrs isn't enough... 15 would be more like.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

how close is the light???

since i dont see it in the pic.. i suspect its more than the one to two inches above the plant that its supposed to be ... and if so.. its not really doing much .... when i ran plants under lights.. i went with 16 hours min .... and anything that came from a window.. was a bonus ..... in other words.. i relied on the light to provide all it needed ... i didnt reduce hours on a gamble.. that the plants were getting anything from the window .. in winter ...

you might want to also try the succulents forum ... you never know where you will find your jade muse .... though it may have been trained as a bonsai .... it will always remain.. a succulent ....