Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dalenlynz

styling help please

dalenlynz
11 years ago

Ive dug this tree up and belive it to be some sort of maple just a bit baffled on how to style it any advise will help thanks

Comments (9)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    11 years ago

To be honest, I'd do a trunk chop just above that thin low branch, work on the roots or start a layer (ask if you want to know how) & put it back in the ground when the frost is out, making sure it remains dormant until then.

Al

• dalenlynz
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Cud you explain a little more please as im kinda new to this ii have a couple of indoor trees that ive bought and done quite alot ov reading but advice from someone experianced is priceless
    thanks mate

• dalenlynz
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi ive read up on what you said and understand a little better now so thanks would a graft to this trunk be possible do you think as its thiker than picture shows! Does trunk tapper afect grafting ?????

11 years ago

I just used this picture on another thread, but it is really close to what you have. I've already chopped the thick trunk just above the thin branch with wire on it. The thin branch will be the new leader, and at some point, I'll chop that back, too. You can also see where it was chopped previously - where the cut paste is covering the old scar.

{{gwi:2225}}

Building a bonsai is very often a series of 'chops', designed to build taper into the trunk and to add the illusion of great age. For instance, this larch was chopped where you see the scar, and the scar was then carved into a hollow to disguise it and make it look like a natural part of the tree. The 'trunk' above the scar, is a branch that I wired upward to be the new leader, just as I did on the maple at the top.

{{gwi:2226}}

Even this little Ficus cutting was purposely chopped so there would be some taper in the trunk. In 3-4 years, the scar will be completely healed.

{{gwi:2228}}