Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aleka_gw

HELP with my bonzai

aleka
18 years ago

Hello! I am very new at this and I am not even sure I am posting in the right forum. I have been having problems with my bonzai and I am desperate. It's a ligustrum tree (according to the label it came with) and it's been losing its leaves. I repotted it about a month ago and everything was going alright. However, during the past week it's started to lose its leaves. It looks alright and all, I mean the leaves aren't yellowish or anything and they look absolutely healthy despite the fact that they have fallen off.

Do you have any idea why this is happening?

I have been watering it regularly, spraying its leaves, using the right fertilizer (rich in iron etc) but there seems to be no improvement.

Could you please help me?

Thank you very much!

Aleka

Comments (12)

• aleka
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Oh, I should probably say that I keep my ligustrum indoors. It's in a well-light position away from direct sunlight.

Thanks a million!

Aleka

• lucy
    18 years ago

Aleka - where do you live? It matters in relation to where you keep it, but for now, relax = it's a deciduous plant, like a maple tree, or any tree with leaves rather than needles, and it will lose leaves in winter like any of the others. I do suggest though that you keep it in the coolest room you have now, but sunlight is important - until more than less leaves have fallen, then it's not needed, but then you should also water less often - a dormant tree (which is the stage yours is going through) only needs to be kept slightly moist throughout, but not wet or soggy at all.

• lucy
    18 years ago