Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elsceyb

Pepper Tree: growing season and pruning

elsceyb
18 years ago

Hi,

I'm completely new to gardening, yet alone Bonsai, my version of gardening is being able to keep things alive, which is mostly watering plants. For my birthday last year I got a Bonsai Pepper Tree (Zanthoxylum pipertum), it's still alive, but it's sprouted a lot of leaves recently.

The small instruction slip I have says I should feed weekly in the growing season. When is the growing season, has it just started given that it's suddenly sprouting leaves, and what should I feed it with?

Also, my understanding of bonasi growing is that they need to be prunned annualy, when is the best time to do this, and exactly how much pruning can a Pepper Tree handle? Is it necessary that I repot it as well, and what soil would be best?

Thanks

Comments (15)

• lucy
    18 years ago