Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gabro14

Ponytail palm (Nolina Recurvata)

gabro14
17 years ago

Hi all,

I'm new to this bonsai forum. I will soon be receiving an 8-10" ponytail palm. I really don't want it to get much taller than that. I would like the leaves to grow, but it's already an old and well-established plant, so if they don't grow due to my hindering of the trunk growth, so be it. As for hindering the trunk growth (vertically, not horizontally..I like thick trunks), I am going to plant it in a 10X7" diameter pot that is 3" high. Do you think if I keep it rootbound in this pot the trunk will not get any taller? Also, should I withhold fertilizer or is that mostly for leaf growth? Bottom line is...I want my tree to remain the same height (or only grow a few inches). However, I don't want to keep cutting the head off to do so. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Gabi

Comments (32)

• lucy
    17 years ago