Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
claypot_gw

Hawaiian Umbrella

claypot
16 years ago

I'm new to Bonsai and was given a Hawaiian Umbrella as a gift. I read that this is good first time bonsai project. Plant is about 24"s tall with a thick healthy canopy. The trunk and root base is very thin and flimsy, however. I read that hard pruning would promote heavier trunk growth. Anyone recommend this? Also wanted to repot. When should I do this and what kind of soil? Fertilizer...etc. LOL...sorry so many ?s, this tree came with no care instructions. Thanks for any advice you may have.

Comments (2)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    16 years ago

Well, hard pruning won't promote heavier trunk growth, but it will cause back-budding, pruning opportunities to create trunk movement if you desire, and the potential for some future taper if you intend to grow the plant as a single trunk specimen. Obviously, you're not going to make a believable looking tree that is 24" tall with a half inch trunk, so yes - trunk chops will be required.

I would wait to repot until you are ready to move the plant outdoors. This will be when nights are reliably above 55* or whenever you're ready to move the tree in and out when temperatures dip below 55*. The tree has good natural genetic vigor, and will begin to gain strength quickly after you move it outdoors. In mid-June, you can cut the plant back hard & allow it to grow freely all summer long, tip-pruning as required to keep the plant tidy. Next spring, you can assess the need to repot again and prune hard again after establishing an idea of what style the tree is leading you toward.