Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chantell_gw

Ficus - Root Rot?

chantell
18 years ago

Help please! Newbie here - purchased 2 bonsais at local Walmart. One - a ficus -- the other appears to be a boxwood. I think I've over watered the ficus :( It's base above the soil forms a tripod of sorts. These are thick like trunk (excuse my ignorance, please) but look like big thick roots. One of the three has gone from firm wood to "mush." I found this accidently as everything appeared to be going well i.e. new growth - no discolored leaves etc. If I leave the mush will it spread or should I try to do an operation of sorts and remove it? It's such a cute little plant - I hate to lose it. How often IS too often for watering? When it's little tray is empty - I've been refilling it. It's in a great location with plenty of filtered light...help!!!

Comments (7)

• castorcrap
    18 years ago