Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
link_huau

Branch removal on chinese elm?

link_huau
12 years ago

I am relatively new to bonsai and have looked for an answer to this but haven't been able to find one, so I hope it hasnt been answered. I have a Chinese elm I bought through a nursery and I really like the trunk development, however I hate the branches and branch placents. My question is, considering it was brought inside in January and is now growing well in my set up, can I remove all of the branches, leaving a good amount of leaves at the top for photosynthesis? I am also concerned because it was recently repotted, would that play a role in recovery? And while on the subject, can total defoliation of this species be done the same year as it was repotted? Thank you in advance for whatever advice you can give me!

Comments (6)

• simsedward
    12 years ago

When you potted it, did you just slip in in a new pot with fresh soil or did you do a heavy root pruning?
    FWIW-
    Not sure of what the experts on this site will say, and not sure if I did the right thing, but I repotted mine this spring (may) and then I brought it in this fall (October). I had a lot of large leaves and decided to try the total defoliation. I clipped all of the leaves and made it look like all of the trees outside. I have it inside now growing under my fluorescents...tons of new buds started swelling out about a month later, now it has a ton of smaller healthier looking leaves. So far so good.
    Not sure about heavy trimming of branches in the winter...sounds like a gamble to me but I am no expert on Chinese Elms. Just my humble opinion.

• link_huau
    Original Author
    12 years ago