Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
corry_engelbrecht

Can I straighten this Ficus benjamina?

Corry_Engelbrecht
11 years ago

This ficus has been in a co-worker's office for yeaaaaars and she's now relinquished it's care to me. I've never done any sort of reshaping/reforming of plants before, so I have no idea about this sort of thing. I'm curious if this ficus can be made to stand up straight again? It's a little under 6 feet tall (well, 6 feet high. I'm sure it'd be taller if it weren't hunched over). If it is possible, how would I go about doing it?

Comments (8)

• Corry_Engelbrecht
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Man, this is one quiet forum!

• lehua49
    11 years ago

CE,

I am by no means an expert, but FBs are tropical plants. They do not like cold. Can't tell what zone you are in but when something grows indoors it gets leggy like your picture illustrates. My advice would be to keep indoors until it gets over 60 at night. I would chop it to the table height and wait till it leafs out again. Keep it under good light, more the better. When you are ready to take it outside later, re-pot to a larger pot and comb out the roots if they are root-bound. Slowly get it use too stronger outdoor light. Put it into a good draining bonsai soil mix. Growth will be much better when out side in good light. Then start designing it into an upright style. You should have many options with all the new branches that start. These are fast growers and when outside, keep an eye for those aggressive roots that take off into the ground. What you are looking for is to increase the trunk diameter and let the roots thicken and partially emerge from the soil. Also these trees will have aerial roots come from above and reach to soil. Encourage these by keeping the humidity high around this tree by watering frequently but standing water wet. aloha

• raiun42
    11 years ago

Good advice from lehua13.
    Yes you can straighten it up.