Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tombob_gw

Perlite? Haydite? Turface?

tombob
18 years ago

As a complete newbie to bonsai, I am trying to find a soil mixture that I can begin with. At various times in my readings, I have found the above amendments suggested. I am wondering if these soil components are interchangeable? Do they all do the same thing?

Perlite is readily available in my small community whereas the other conditioners are not.

Comments (15)

• gnome_in_pa
    18 years ago

TomBob:

All three products are inorganic material that promotes drainage, aeration and water retention. Perlite is expanded volcanic rock, think mineral popcorn. Turface is fired clay while Haydite is fired shale, either can be used in bonsai culture, use whichever you can find at the best price. They are the domestic equivalent of expensive imported bonsai soils.
    I purchased my first bag of Turface through the mail and paid a premium for shipping what is essentially rock. This last summer I found a local source for Haydite and bought some in bulk at a substantial savings. Check landscape companies that sell mulch and gravel in bulk. You can also try groundskeepers at ball-fields and golf courses. If you decide to purchase Turface be sure to specify the MVP grade, the size is more appropriate for bonsai. Sifting will also be required to remove the fines of any of these products.

Check the archives on this forum for discussions about various soil mixes.

http://www.protimelawnseed.com/turface_mvp.htm
    http://www.hayditesoilconditioners.com/Bonsai.htm
    http://www.perlite.net/redco/basic.htm

Norm

Here is a link that might be useful: Soil discussion

• rjj1
    18 years ago

Depending on what region of the country you live and the manufacturer, haydite can be made from clay, shale or slate. Here in Oklahoma it's clay.

I buy it from the manufacturer here by the yard.

randy

• drroberttrimmer
    18 years ago