Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kartiek

My seeds are growing in the air!

Kartiek
12 years ago

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner to growing bonsai, or any plant for that matter. I bought a planted set of seeds of Japanese Black Pine Tree.

The seeds were planted fairly shallow, some were even on the surface of the soil. The instructions said that this was fine. What's puzzling me is that my seeds have started to give a green stem out, and the stem is now about an inch and a half for one particular seed, and the seed is on top of this stem in the air!

Is this the way it's supposed to be? Aren't the seeds supposed to remain in the soil? If there's something wrong, how do I correct this?

I'm hoping for a quick reply as I'm getting a bit paranoid about the fate of my seedlings! Thanks in advance

Kartiek

Comments (11)

• thehodge
    12 years ago

The seed casing will continue to cap the stem until the leaves/needles push it apart and knock it off this is quite normal for seeds that grow wshallow or on top soil so leave them be theyll shed them when theyre ready. Only seeds of more of a kernal style will remain in the soil

• Kartiek
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thank you very much for your reply thehodge!

I can't wait to see leaves. I'm waiting for this to happen so that I will then start shifting them to a proper pot.

I think I'm beginning to see some needles start to come out of the seed.

• simsedward
    12 years ago

Agreed, just a seed casing. It will fall off.

• tropicofcancer (6b SW-PA)
    12 years ago

I would say do not hurry to transplant it. Let it grow till you see some roots dangling out of the bottom hole of the pot. When you start seeing true leaves, start on a very light fertilizer schedule. Have fun. I have never grown a pine from seed and I bet it will be fun to watch.

• Kartiek
    Original Author
    12 years ago

So finally some of the plants have dropped their seed, and showing their first needles.