Return to the Bonsai Forum | Post a Follow-Up

 o
Sunshine 4u....a scam??

Posted by ausdag SE Qld Aust (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 31, 05 at 2:27

Hi all,

I've been away from this forum for a couple of years but now I'm back. I was browsing the internet and found a sight claiming to sell a wonderful 'secret' formula for maturing bonsais quickly. Sounds a bit dodgy but I thought I'd ask and see if anyone here has dealt with this 'John Perez' andhis 'secret' formula?

Website - http://www.sunshine-4u.com/fabonsai/index.html

Cheers,

DavidG


Follow-Up Postings:

 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

"Secret formula" is usually another term for "S-C-A-M." If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is, especially if the maker doesn't want to show you what you're buying. By the way, after looking at the web site, I was hard pressed to tell what I would be buying--fertilizer a "bonsai" program or special technique...

I especially like the section on the site that says "why should you believe John" about his recipe? The first answer is basically "because he's been on TV" (although it doesn't say where or when--could be "Today" or on cable public access Channel 239 at 3 am.)

The entire pitch goes on for pages without telling you what you're buying, another sign it's pretty much, as Vance W. would say, Bovine Scatology (BeeEss)...Save your money


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

Please remember that "secret formula" is an anagram for flour tree scam. Coincidence? I think not!

Chris


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

When I first started useing this forum I asked the same question, and was unable to get back on for several days. I was acussed of being envolved with this John Perez. I had to explain to the web master that like you I was only asking a question. It is a scam. Hope you don't have the same problem I had.


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

  • Posted by ausdag SE Qld Aust (My Page) on
    Thu, Mar 31, 05 at 17:22

Thanks people, That confirms my suspicions.


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

Hi,
Contact because you are SE QLD. Hope we can be of help to each other for bonsai. I am a beginner, but willing to learn. I live in Kingaroy, but visit the 'coast' frequently. Mostly Marcoola/Maroochydore.
Please contact for availability of plants for this area.
Karen.


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

Hi, guys

I am in Brisbane. The Bimer annual show is at Mt Coottha Botanical Gardens on 16/17 Apr. My homepage is out of date but will be fixing that this year.

Brian

Here is a link that might be useful: Brian's Bonsai in Australia


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

Hi Brian, Hi Karen. Brian, where in Brisbane are you staying? I take it you mean you're just visiting for the show and will return to Bundy afterwards. I'm afraid I won't be able to make the show this year. Oh well.

Karen, I'm not too sure about availability in Kingaroy, but if you ever get down to Brisbane, there are at least three specialist bonsai nurseries - two on the 'South side' and one just north of Brisbane near caboolture.

Cheers,

DavidG


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

ok im gonna openly admit this in front of the world wide web. I fed into the whole banzai groth, care, maint. manual for the tree. its my first bonzai, wasnt even sure how to prune or wire it. this guide did help in that area so it was worth a few bucks to me anyway. ive only had the "SECRET POTION" for a day now, and i dont even have any of the ingredients for them, although regular and hosehold they are infact. but i will get them today and mix up this concauction and definatly let u guys know how it came out. u wouldnt belive what the ingredients are LOL... have to wait and see. I will prob take some pics of the whole ordeal to compare. U will hear from me soon, regaurdless the outcome.


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

Shoot I can think of a household home brew.
Iron - Scrap rusty nail
Calc. - crumble some egg shells
Mang. - Epson salt
N -
Dishwashing soap (ammonia something)
P - ???
K - Ash from the fire place

Shake well and strain ;-)


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

On another forum, I distinctly remember that site being found to use stolen images for before and after pics.

If anyone wants to waste money on this stuff, send your money to me instead and I'll send you some links to good bonsai sites. You'll end up with more information that actually works, and the money will have gone to a good cause. :)


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

You must be kidding me. This thread gets ten replies while grafting languishes with none?


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

Ha, ha
Bonsaikc,
don't feel bad.
Your very well put together web page on the topic doesn't leave room for comment.
How many ways can you say very nice without sounding redundant?


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

Boo hoo Chris. Grafting is hard and takes practice. No one here wants that. We want our bonsai to grow fast and look ancient in a hurry, preferably with a simple magic elixir. You're behind the times, the old methods are obsolete.
:) zube


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

i just got on another john perez site having to do with clematis. almost bought into it! decided to google him and found this site/thank goodness. for 1, i don't like to down load books, that's what made me hesitate. 2 if it sounds to good to be tru, it usualy is. 3 price break/ order now for $19.95 or pay 85.95/ huge difference/high pressure sell/hate that! had 1 day to make choice'today only. do i now think it's a scam/YES! thank's all. karen


 o
RE: Sunshine 4u....a scam??

If you do a search for fertilizer + any plant of your choice, that scam site comes up. I think these people must be minting money to have some many different websites. It has the hallmark of scam all over it.


 o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

    If you are a member, please log in.

    If you aren't yet a member, join now!


Return to the Bonsai Forum

Instructions

  • You must be a registered member and logged in to post messages on our forums.
  • Posting is a two-step process. Once you have composed your message, you will be taken to the preview page. You will then have a chance to review the contents and make changes.
  • After posting your message, you may need to refresh the forum page in order to see it.
  • It is illegal to post copyrighted material without the owner's consent.
  • HTML codes are allowed in the message field only.
  • No advertising is allowed in any of the forums.
  • If you would like to practice posting or uploading photos, please visit our Test forum.
  • If you need assistance, please Contact Us and we will be happy to help.



 
Click here to learn more about in-text links on this page.