Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beharding88

OLD Bonsai is dying quick!

beharding88
10 years ago

Hello, I am very new to Bonsai growing. I purchased a Water Jasmine Bonsai 4 months ago and it has been dying every day since. The death has started from the top and is working its way down the tree. I am giving it plenty of water in a pot that drains. It is inside under a light which I leave on for about 12 hours a day. There are some small insects in the soil that you can hardly see but they stay in the soil and are not on the actual tree. I am not sure what the problem is but I am going to post some pictures I just took. You can see one new branch growth in them from the bottom which makes me wonder why the rest is dying....hmmmm PLEASE any help would be greatly appreciated!!! This tree is like 20 years old and I dont want to me the cause of its death :(

This post was edited by beharding88 on Thu, Mar 27, 14 at 22:41

Comments (8)

• moochinka
    10 years ago

Hi - my understanding of a 'water jasmine' is that it's a Wrightia religiosa', and the leaves look nothing like your tree's, though those look possibly like a Eugenia's, though that's just a guess. You need to get rid of whatever's living in the soil as it's probably killing the roots... not all pests live on the trunk. Until you find out what tree you have though, it's hard to advise otherwise. I'd try watering less often though and see how things go, plus give it a couple of more hours of light daily.

• beharding88
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the response! I am 100% sure it is a water jasmine that was imported from vietnamese. I will try to post a better pic of the leaves... What is the best way to kil the insects in the soil?

Thanks!!!

• MikeyLeeG
    10 years ago

We need a better picture, possibly of the entire plant. Is the soil the same from when you bought it?

• beharding88
    Original Author
    10 years ago